Jan. 4

Quentin left at 4:30 this morning to go hunting with his dad. The bed sure does get cold without him.

I got up around 8 to take care of the animals. It was 16º out.

Afterwards I cleaned the kids’ bathroom, started laundry, and made a batch of granola. I tried a new recipe and like this one much better. The only differences in this recipe and my old one is the addition of 1/4 cups of water, and you only bake it 10 minutes instead of 2 hours. This recipe reminds me of the crunchy granola bars that you buy at the store, though, they’re not as hard as the store bought ones.

Simple Homemade Granola Recipe

1/2 c. margarine (1 stick)
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. water
1/4 tsp. salt
4 cups rolled oats
1/2 tsp. cinnamon(I use 2 heaping tsp.)
1/2 c. dried fruit (optional, but I use Craisins-dried cranberries)
1/2 c. nuts or seeds (optional, I usually skip)

In a large 4 qt. saucepan, melt the margarine, sugar, and water together. Simmer 2-3 minutes. Take off of heat and add the oatmeal, cinnamon, and salt. Stir up the granola making sure that every piece of oatmeal is coated in brown sugary goodness. Put the granola on a large sided cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 10 minutes. It should be a nice golden brown. Allow to cool on cookie sheet. Once cooled, you can break the granola apart with spoon or your fingers, and place in a jar. If adding optional nuts or fruit, you can mix those in just before placing granola in its container.

We think it tastes great in milk, on yogurt, or all by itself.

012

Quentin called around 9:30 to say he had got a doe. I am happy to have more meat for the freezer.

After lunch I got the rugs vacuumed, everything dusted, and clothes folded and put away.

Quentin made it home a little after 3 and got to work on his deer. He brought my camera to me that I had left at his mom’s and dad’s house over Christmas. His mom had cooked us a wonderful Christmas dinner of turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, baked beans, deviled eggs, rolls, cherry pie, poke cake, etc., etc., etc. It was really good. Here are some pictures I took of my mother-in-laws decorations.

013

My mother-in-law has a huge snowman collection.

My mother-in-law has a huge snowman collection.

My mother-in-law on the left and McKenzie in the massage chair. Everyone had to try out the massage chair.

My mother-in-law on the left and McKenzie in the massage chair. Everyone had to try out the massage chair.

Poky liked visiting Momaw and Popaw too.

Poky liked visiting Momaw and Popaw too.

Momaw, McKenzie, Madison, Bubby, and Popaw.

Momaw, McKenzie, Madison, Bubby, and Popaw.

We had pizza quesadillas instead of chicken tonight. They turned out to be really good.

Quentin got us a quesadilla maker for Christmas

Quentin got us a quesadilla maker for Christmas

We played Wii Party U and watched TV for the rest of the evening.

About oneandahalfacrehomestead

Welcome to OneAndaHalfAcreHomestead. I hope you enjoy your visit! :)Vicki
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jan. 4

  1. donna says:

    The quesadilla maker looks cool. Maybe we could have them sometime when we come over. Ruth’s decorations look so good. I love snowmen. The granola looks good. I will have to try out the recipe. I’m glad Quentin got another deer. Way to go, Quentin! Talk to you soon. I want to tell you all about our “Queen’s Tea”. God bless.

  2. Jessica says:

    I bet your full of smilies with having more meat for the freezer. Good for Quentin. I have never seen a quesadillas maker. I did not even know made one. They look really yummy!
    Your Christmas pictures are very nice.

Leave a Reply

