Jan. 5

It had warmed up to 36º this morning and was raining lightly. That was a pleasant surprise. The water buckets had thawed slightly so the ice chunks were easy to lift out.

I got Bub started on a bottle of water and gave him his pill shortly after. The key is an empty stomach and lots and lots of water.

Quentin got up to cook breakfast when it was getting close to the time that Bub could have some food. He wanted to make fresh tenderloin for breakfast. We had tenderloin with mushrooms and hash browns with onions.

I made up a batch of laundry soap using this recipe. I was completely out and this works great. It is also fast and easy to make. Before I made laundry soap I had to make washing soda.  I never buy washing soda anymore I just do this.

Homemade laundry detergent:

3 tablespoons of borax
3 tablespoons of washing soda (NOT baking soda)
2 tablespoons of original blue Dawn

Directions:
Put the borax and washing soda in a gallon jug. I use a funnel so it doesn’t spill down the side.
Pour in four cups of hot water. It doesn’t have to be boiling, but it does need to be hot enough to dissolve the powders. I usually just heat the water in the microwave until it’s about as hot as water would be for coffee. The original website I got this from said to put the Dawn in with the borax and washing soda, but if you add it after you pour in the hot water, there will be fewer suds. Gently swish to mix and dissolve. After this cools a bit, fill the rest of the jug with cold water.

I made mine in an ice cream bucket. This is what it looks like.

001Madison made up a batch of chocolate sauce, and I let my kids have banana splits for lunch. There were no complaints. 🙂

In the afternoon, I worked on making study cards for everything we have learned in Grammar so far while I bagged deer meat for Quentin.

003

At 5 a lady that I am going to babysit for stopped by to meet us. She brought her two girls and her mom and dad to meet us too. I will have her 5 year old from 7-5:45. Her 7 year old will get on the bus at my house at 7:15 and get off the bus at my house around 4. They were really sweet girls, and I am looking forward to keeping them.

After dinner we snuggled down to watch TV for the evening. We are quite the couch potatoes in winter.

About oneandahalfacrehomestead

Welcome to OneAndaHalfAcreHomestead. I hope you enjoy your visit! :)Vicki
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jan. 5

  1. Jessica says:

    We had to make laundry soap this weekend as well. So to my understanding you use a little washing soda,borax,and dawn dish soap and it makes washing soda to go into your laundry soap? Washing sodas has sure jumped here in price. It is one of those things that never go on sale either. The last time I bought my winter supply it was 5.99 a box. I use a lot because I also use it to make dishwasher detergent, along with a few other things.
    Anyhow correct me if I read that wrong.
    Good for you a little extra with the babysitting job. It is a perfect job for you. 🙂
    Take care

  2. Hi, Jessica! To make the washing soda you dump out a box of baking soda onto a cookie sheet and bake it at 300º for 1 hour. That turns the baking soda into washing soda. Then you can use your washing soda to make your laundry soap, dishwasher detergent, etc.

    • Jessica says:

      Wow thanks so much you just saved me a pile of money. Sorry to confuse you. I guess I was so excited about reading that I could make my own I did not click your link just thought it was the recipe underneath. LOL
      Thanks again Vicki

  3. donna says:

    I haven’t tried this recipe but I want to. Do you like it the best of all the ones we have used? I read on the link that the lady had tried it using Gain dish soap. I think I would like that. I love the scent of Gain. Anyway, I didn’t know I could make my own washing soda. I needed to make some laundry soap and I am out of washing soda-so now I can make it. Yeah! I will try out your recipe for the washing soda and the laundry soap. Congratulations on finding the babysitting job. Sounds nice and extra money is always welcome. Enjoy your day and God bless.

Leave a Reply

